Wasielewski Group

Professor Michael R. Wasielewski

Michael R. Wasielewski is the Clare Hamilton Hall Professor of Chemistry, Northwestern University, Executive Director of the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern, Director of the Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research Center, a US-DOE Energy Frontier Research Center, and Executive Director of the Solar Fuels Institute, a global consortium of energy research centers.

He received his Ph.D. from the University of Chicago and was a postdoctoral fellow at Columbia University. He began his career at Argonne National Laboratory, where he advanced to Senior Scientist and Group Leader.  In 1994, he joined the faculty of Northwestern University. From 2001-2004 he served as Chair of the Department of Chemistry at Northwestern.

His research has resulted in over 650 publications and focuses on light-driven processes in molecules and materials, artificial photosynthesis, molecular electronics, and molecular spintronics. His recent honors and awards include membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; the Royal Society of Chemistry Physical Organic Chemistry Award, the Chemical Pioneer Award of the American Institute of Chemists; the Honda-Fujishima Award of the Japanese Photochemistry Association; the Royal Society of Chemistry Environment Prize; the Humboldt Research Award; the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award of the American Chemical Society; the Porter Medal for Photochemistry; and the James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society.

Michael R. Wasielewski

Michael R. Wasielewski

Professor of Chemistry


Our alumni page has moved! Click here to access. If you’re a Wasielewski alumnus/alumna and would like to be featured and/or added to our alumni listserv, please email the administrator at wasielewski-ofc@northwestern.edu

The Wasielewski Group
at Northwestern University
2190 Campus Dr., Ryan Hall, Room 1010
Evanston, IL 60208
Contact Us