Karl Scheidt







Karl A. Scheidt
Department of Chemistry
Northwestern University
2145 Sheridan Road, Evanston, IL 60208
scheidt@northwestern.edu, 847-491-6659


Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry.  Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, 1999
B.S. in Chemistry.  University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana, 1994

Professional Experience

Director, Northwestern Center for Molecular Innovation and Drug Discovery (CMIDD), 2010-present
Northwestern University:  Professor of Pharmacology, 2015-present
Northwestern University:  Professor of Chemistry, 2013-present
Northwestern University:  Associate Professor of Chemistry, 2008-2013
Northwestern University:  Assistant Professor of Chemistry, 2002-2008

Research Experience

Harvard University: NIH Postdoctoral Fellow with David A. Evans, 1999-2002
Indiana University/University of Michigan:
Graduate Research with William R. Roush, 1994-1999
University of Notre Dame:
Undergraduate Research with Marvin J. Miller, 1992-1994

Honors and Awards

Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) (2016)
Cornew Innovation Award, Chemistry of Life Processes Institute, Northwestern University (2015)
Northwestern University Graduate School Faculty Award for Diversity (2015)
Dow Chemical Research Professor (2012-2014)
Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Invitation Fellowship (2012)
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2012)
Jeremiah P. Freeman Lecturer, University of Notre Dame (2011)
Alumnae of Northwestern University Teaching Professor (2009-2012)
Organic Syntheses Distinguished Lecturer, University of Toronto (2009)
Irving Klotz Professor of Chemistry (2008-2010)
GlaxoSmithKline Scholar (2008-2009)
Alfred P. Sloan Fellow (2007-2009)
AstraZenaca Award for Excellence in Chemistry (2007)
Novartis Chemistry Lecture Award (2007)
Amgen Young Investigator Award (2006)
Boehringer-Ingelheim New Investigator Award in Organic Chemistry (2005)
Northwestern University Distinguished Teaching Award (2005)
3M Nontenured Faculty Award (2005)
Abbott Laboratories New Faculty Award (2005)
Amgen New Faculty Award (2004)
National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2004-2008)
Northwestern University Searle Fellow (2003)
National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellowship, Harvard University  (1999-2001)
Merck Award, University of Notre Dame (1994)

Comments are closed