Congratulations, Dr. Rugg! Brandon Rugg’s thesis, “Quantum Teleportation via Electron Transfer in a Molecular System”, was successfully defended on March 25th.


The 2nd Annual Mark A. Ratner Series of Scholars lecture series will be held on March 20th, 2019 with this year’s honored scholar, Kate Nichols.


Dr. Yuri Berlin has been awarded the Maria Sklodowska-Cure Medal by the General Council of the Polish Radiation Research Society in recognition of distinguished achievements in the field of radiation research and cooperation with Polish scientists. Congratulations, Yuri!


Dr. Bo Fu has successfully defended his thesis and accepted a postdoctoral position in Gregory Scholes’ research group at Princeton. Congratulations, Bo!


Former postdoc Rebecca Gieseking has accepted a position as Assistant Professor at the Department of Chemistry at Brandeis University. Congratulations Rebecca!!


Former group member Prof. Emily Weiss is named the inaugural Mark and Nancy Ratner Professor. Click here to read more: Northwestern News


The Inaugural Mark A. Ratner Series of Scholars lecture is scheduled for Monday April 9th at 11:15am in Harris Hall. The lecture will be given by Professor Rachel Armstrong, Professor of Architecture of Newcastle University.


Leighton Jones joins the Ratner group as a postdoctoral fellow. Welcome, Leighton!


Jonathan Schultz joins the Ratner group as a joint graduate student with the Wasielewski group. Welcome, Jonathan!


Jia Wang joins the Ratner group as a visiting scholar. Welcome, Jia!


Nicholas Jackson wins the 2015 Northwestern Presidential Fellowship. The Presidential Fellowship is the university’s most prestigious award given to only the top students for their outstanding intellectual and creative ability.


Professor Ratner has agreed to serve as the interim Dean of Weinberg College for the 2014-15 academic year. During his 44 years at Northwestern, Mark has achieved a remarkable record of service, serving two terms as chair of the chemistry department, as associate dean in Weinberg College and currently as co-director of the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern (ISEN). Mark is a true “university citizen,” and will be an excellent leader of Weinberg College.


Shane Paker has succesfully defended his thesis. Dr. Parker will be joining the Shiozaki Group here at Northwestern to work on several summer projects.


Professor Ratner was honored at the 2014 annual Northwestern Alumni Association Awards. He was presented the Alumni Merit Award in recognition of his achievements as a professor and acclaimed theoretical materials chemist.


Brett Savoie has succesfully defended his thesis. Dr. Savoie will be staying on with the Ratner group for several months to finish several projects before moving on.


Forty years of molecular electronics: Non-equilibrium heat and charge transport at the nanoscale, published by Justin Bergfield and Mark Ratner is the feature Cover article in the November 2013 issue of Physica Status Solidi B.


Zixuan (Andrew) Hu successfully defends his thesis. Andrew has decided to stay with the group to finish working on several projects while he searches for his next position.


Lindsey Madison and Nicholas Jackson have been awarded a prestigious fellowship by the Nation Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. As the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. Congratulations Lindsey and Nick on a well deserved honor.


Henry Heitzer (G2) is a 2011 recipient of a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate(NDSEG) Fellowship. The NDSEG Fellowship is a highly competitive, portable fellowship that is awarded to U.S. citizens and nationals who intend to pursue a doctoral degree in one of fifteen supported disciplines. NDSEG confers high honors upon its recipients, and allows them to attend whichever U.S. institution they choose. NDSEG Fellowships last for three years. They pay for full tuition, mandatory fees, and a monthly stipend. Congratulations, Mr. Heitzer on your accomplishment.


Group member Chris George has successfully defended his dissertation. He has taken a position as a Software Engineer at Intel. Congratulations Dr. George.


Group member Matt Reuter has successfully defended his dissertation, entitled “Coherent Control of Electric Current at the Nanoscale”. In August, Dr. Reuter will be moving to Oak Ridge National Laboratory to begin a Eugene P. Wigner Fellowship with Bobby Sumpter and Robert Harrison. Congratulations Dr. Reuter!


Group member Jon Servaities has successfully defended his dissertation, entitled “High Efficiency Organic Photovoltaic Design: Charge Carrier Recombination and Resistance Limitations.” Up next, he will be a postdoctoral researcher with Prof. Stacey Bent at Stanford University. Congratulations Dr. Servaites.

Back To Top