Northwestern | ORGANIZATION OF WOMEN FACULTY

June 2, 2017

Dear President Schapiro, Provost Linzer, Incoming Provost Holloway, Associate Provost Chase-Lansdale, and Associate Provost Bennett,

On behalf of the steering committee of Organization of Women Faculty (OWF), we thank you for the 2016 Provost's Preliminary Faculty Salary Equity Study and Faculty Compensation Survey. The study represents a first step in realizing Northwestern's commitment to pay equity and to monitoring our progress. In that spirit, after numerous conversations with women faculty, the OWF has identified a set of next steps to promote pay equity at Northwestern. The Faculty Senate endorsed this response on June 1, 2017.

As pay equity is an important issue of concern to faculty and students, we ask that you forward the OWF response to the Board of Trustees. We would also like to invite you to an OWF sponsored forum next fall or winter, in order to foster direct and open dialogue with faculty regarding the next steps planned to address these issues.

We have also shared this correspondence with the Dean's Council, with our membership (all women faculty at Northwestern), and with the Daily Northwestern.

Thank you for your strong commitment to diversity and gender equity at Northwestern. We look forward to continuing to work collaboratively and constructively with you.

Sincerely, and on behalf of the OWF Steering Committee,

Keven Q as Sleath a Cor

Karen J. Alter Professor

OWF Co-Chair

Heather L. Colburn Associate Professor of Instruction

OWF Co-Chair

Cristina Traina Professor

Jan St Dame

OWF Co-Chair

Co-Chairs Karen J. Alter Professor, WCAS

Heather L. Colburn, Associate Professor of Instruction, WCAS

Cristina Traina Professor, WCAS

Steering Committee Shana Bernstein Clinical Associate Professor, WCAS

Susan Mango Curtis Associate Professor, Medill

Emma De Costa Lecturer, McCormick

Jillana Enteen Associate Professor of Instruction, WCAS

Christine Percheski Assistant Professor, WCAS

Lauren Rivera Associate Professor, Kellogg

Miriam Sherin Professor, SESP

Kim Yuracko Judd and Mary Morris Leighton Professor, Pritzker School of Law